Driving home from a family outing today, I saw a truck parked on the side of the road with the words “Gentleman’s Club” and, predictably, a huge picture of a woman wearing nothing but skimpy underwear.  I did a double take, not believing my eyes.

Sure, I’m prepared for battle when I enter the mall, quickly ushering my kids past the Victoria’s Secret storefront and shielding my own eyes from the half-naked men in numerous other storefronts, but to see this image on a truck was simply shocking.  All I could think was, ‘I hope they don’t look over there.”

I couldn’t get this out of my mind all afternoon, wondering what our world is coming to when not only does this filth exist, but it’s accepted and even celebrated.  And the name struck me as odd, “Gentleman’s Club.”  I asked myself, what is Gentlemanly about all this?

I found the following definitions at Websters:

Gentleman:
– a man of good family, breeding, or social position.
-a civilized, educated, sensitive, or well-mannered man

So I ask again, is there anything gentlemanly about these places?

Do the men who patronize such establishments show themselves civilized or well-mannered?  Can anything that goes on inside of these places be classified as civilized, sensitive or well-mannered?  Would anyone really look at such a man and think, ‘he had a good upbringing?’

So, for fun, I came up with some alternative names, that better reflect the nature of such clubs:
Smut Hut
Sleazy Salon
Pervert Peepers

Any other suggestions?
