I like food.  I love food.  I love the wonderful aromas, tastes, textures,   The love the process of eating, and the feeling of a meal well enjoyed.  I have grown in my discernment of good food over the years having married a restaurant-guy.  He has worked in a number of restaurants over his working career, from fast food to upscale seafood.  He knows the kitchen secrets of places like Applebees and Cheesecake Factory.  He knows when your potatoes are fake/powdered potatoes and when they are real.  What is microwaved and when ‘fresh’ really doesn’t mean fresh.

Initially, I kind of resented him for raining on my parade.  We’d go out somewhere, and he say, ‘oh, you don’t want that, they do X to that.’  But, over time, I have come to appreciate this unique knowledge and have affectionately labeled him my ‘food snob.’

Oh, the stories he tells.  Funny and disturbing all at the same time of ‘tales from the kitchen.’

It’s rather ironic.  My husband grew up very poor.  White beans and tortillas were his daily fare.  Today, he is my ‘food snob.’  I, on the other hand grew up eating all sorts of delicious things.  Not really lavish, but I’ve certainly had a steak or two.  Yet today, I eat what’s there because I don’t want to waste it.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but it can and does lead to eating for reasons other than sustenance.

So when we go out to eat these days, I have to consciously think about whether I am enjoying the meal.  One more than one occasion we have left a restaurant, and my husband would comment on the food not being so good, and I’d say something to the effect of, ‘yeah, mine wasn’t very good either.’  Then and only then would it hit me, I ate the whole thing, but it wasn’t very good.  What a disconnect.

As I try to teach my girls to be grateful for having 3-squares-a-day, I also have to be very careful about instilling in them my weird, warped, eat-it-cause-it’s-there-I-don’t-care-if-you’re-not-hungry mentality.  That’s so often how I eat, without even realizing it.

My girls have a wonderful stubbornness about food which poses a unique challenge for my husband and I as we try to balance this teaching of gratitude, and the desire to create little-food-snobs, who don’t just eat because it is there, but rather because they have hunger and the food is quality.

Tomorrow I will share of the iron-clad will of my girls on this topic.

