There are many things that I know intellectually, but have a hard time translating into practical, everyday life.  This is one of those truths…my kids are not just like me, and that is okay, even a good thing.  Sure, they look like me; I’ve been told that my oldest is a spitting image of me at that age.  My middle child has my stubbornness, God bless her.  And my youngest is cute like me – so says my husband (I think we need to get his eyes checked).  There is some resemblance, but at their core, at who they are, their personality, their likes and dislikes, they are not a carbon copy of me.  When I ponder this, I say, ‘praise the Lord for that!!” but when caught up in our daily routine, I often think that life would be easier if they were just like me.

I have a friend who is great at accepting, loving and encouraging the differences in her children.  It may be the 20+ years of parenting she has under her belt, but I think it’s more than that.  Maybe its part of her innate personality, I don’t know.  What I do know is that I am often in awe of this, and seek to emulate it.

My kids have their quirks, like we all do.  They also have their sin propensities.  My difficult task is separating the two.  It’s tempting to look at the traits that bug me, and decide that it’s a sin issue that needs dealing with. Intellectually, I know this is wrong.  Intellectually I know this will likely provoke them to wrath and create strife and bitterness, if not today, certainly down the road.  The days would certainly go smoother is everyone was like me, but then where would the challenge be?

My kids are amazing people.  They are fun and funny.  The are quirky and I love to watch them in action.  I love to watch them when they are playing together, and when they enter their own, personal fantasy world.  It’s a blast to simply sit and gaze when they have no idea that there is an audience.  In these moments, I can look at my kids with admiration over the God who wonderfully and fearfully made them.

I look forward to watching my kids grow, and to see how there personalities, their likes and dislikes, play out in their lives as they mature.  I am eager to see how my middle child’s ability to effortlessly seek and destroy just about anything will play out in her future.  I am certain that there is some God ordained purpose for this – maybe she’ll be a tinkerer and an inventor.  I look at my oldest and her compassion, which can often go beyond what my introverted  personality is comfortable with.  Maybe she’ll become a missionary, bringing medical aid to others.  And I look at my son, his constant energy and overly physical play, and hope that  translates into a godly man who serves and protects his family.

Whatever their future holds, it is held in the hands of a good and loving God.  Keeping a longterm perspective can help with the here and now frustrations.  In the meantime, I think I just need to lighten up.

