I’m not sure how it is even possible, but I’ve noticed that I often fail to recognize that my children aren’t just ‘my children,’ but that they are people, made in the image of God.  So often I view them as a distraction, as an interruption, an inconvenience, but not as a soul created by the Lord.

It is somewhat understandable, but maybe not excusable.  I mean, it seems these days I cannot even have a thought without being interrupted.  Do you know how frustrating it is to try to think about something, when a little voice breaks in with, ‘mommy can we go to the park…mommy can we go to the park…mommy, can we go to the park.’  It is truly amazing how many words they can say in 3 seconds.  If only they could pause, and take a breath, I’d have a chance to process their question and answer.

When every waking moment seems to revolve around these little people, who are in constant need or want of something, it can be hard to look at them as God looks at them.  Yet, that is exactly what I’m called to do.

I go through seasons when I wake up each day and think, ‘what’s the point?’  I know the biblical, textbook answer to this, yet I don’t always believe it.  If I traced the root of such thinking, I would recognize that it is my perspective causing the problem.  If my children are indeed just distractions, interruptions and inconveniences, then what is the point?

BUT

If they are indeed made in the image of God, created by Him and for Him, purposed to glorify Him, then there is a point.  Life as a mom isn’t a futile repetition of waking, clothing, feeding, sleeping, with a dash of peacemaking thrown in.  No, life as a mom is this GINORMOUS task of training up these little souls to become big souls that love our Lord.

What task could possibly be bigger?

