Yesterday we took the Lord’s Supper at church.  As we sang “The Power of the Cross” I had tears welling up in my eyes over the love Christ has shown.  Christ loved even me, who railed against Him and His laws for the first 21 years of my life, a life He game to me.

I looked out the big, beautiful windows as we sang, and saw a boy playing baseball in his yard  And for a moment, a hint of pride came into my heart as I thought about the talents and skills I have.   I thought about how I compared to people as a whole, and considered my soccer and martial arts skills, my academic pedigree, my professional resume.   Of course, my mind happily skipped over the skills I lack, and the academic areas where I possess no proficiency.

Then it hit me, any skill or talent I possess was given to me by Another, and He certainly isn’t impressed.  As we sang the third stanza:

“Now the daylight fleed; now the ground beneath
Quakes as its Maker bows His head.
Curtain torn in two, dead are raise to life;
“Finished!” the vict’ry cry.”

I had this picture in my head of picking up a worm from the ground.  That is essentially what Christ did.  I am a worm, and Christ has plucked me up from the ground.  There is no value in me, other than the value Christ has placed upon me.  All my soccer skill, my karate ability, my academic records, and anything else I might look upon with pride is nothing but a worm trick.  I thought about the sight of that worm in my hand doing flips, and wondered, would I be impressed with such a feat?  Not at all.  Yet my natural self wants to walk around with pride at all the ‘worm tricks’ I have done.

I once heard a man say that humility isn’t so much about properly assessing ourselves, but rather properly assessing God.  When we see God in truth, the natural consequence is to see us in truth.

That truth is that my Lord chose to love me, even though I was unlovable.  He chose to redeem me, even though I spat in His face and blasphemed His name.  He chose to make me a joint heir with His Son, even though there is no good in me, and any semblance of good is only that which He has place in me.  He has done all the work, and I have done all the sin, yet He took upon Himself all that sin, and now tells me to rest in Him, for the work is done.

Ponder these lyrics today, rest in your Savior, and rejoice in His love towards you.

The Power of the Cross

Oh, to see the dawn
Of the darkest day:
Christ on the road to Calvary.
Tried by sinful men,
Torn and beaten, then
Nailed to a cross of wood.

CHORUS:
This, the pow’r of the cross:
Christ became sin for us;
Took the blame, bore the wrath—
We stand forgiven at the cross.

Oh, to see the pain
Written on Your face,
Bearing the awesome weight of sin.
Ev’ry bitter thought,
Ev’ry evil deed
Crowning Your bloodstained brow.

Now the daylight flees;
Now the ground beneath
Quakes as its Maker bows His head.
Curtain torn in two,
Dead are raised to life;
“Finished!” the vict’ry cry.

Oh, to see my name
Written in the wounds,
For through Your suffering I am free.
Death is crushed to death;
Life is mine to live,
Won through Your selfless love.

FINAL CHORUS:
This, the pow’r of the cross:
Son of God—slain for us.
What a love! What a cost!
We stand forgiven at the cross.


