My potty-training toddler had just wet herself, my four-year-old just spilled water over the cookies that I just took  out of the oven, and here I am, on my hands and knees, cleaning up the pasta and broccoli my baby threw on the floor, his way of announcing he’s done with the meal.  Argh.  Again.  Argh.  Does it ever get better?  Argh.  There has to be more to life than this, right?

If you’re a mom, I suspect these are familiar thoughts.  Create your own scenario, but the questions are likely the same.

What is the point in all this mothering?  I’ve been despairing over that thought for a while know.  I know the ‘right’ answer, the Biblical one.  I know the proper theological answer, along with Bible references, yet for some reason, all that head knowledge is not assimilating into a change in my heart attitude.

What is the point?  Why do what we do on a daily basis?  The waking, dressing, cleaning, cooking, the eating, and more cleaning, the changing, and even more cleaning, more cooking, and eating, then washing, undressing, and sleeping. What is the purpose in all this?  Only to have our kids grow up, and continue the process?  What’s the end game here?

I still don’t have these questions thoroughly reconciled, but I do believe I saw a glimpse of God’s grace, in a still small voice, speaking to me as I was picking up broccoli from under the high chair.  An affirmation that it does matter.

Someone once said that most of life is lived in the mundane tasks.  Sure, there are those big moments, like the wedding, but after the honeymoon that two-become-one union returns to ‘life’, to jobs, and housework, eventually kids and runny noses.  There may be a vacation, celebrating birthdays, etc.  But life is really made up of the small tasks.  Boy oh boy, doesn’t life feel mundane after picking up the zillionth noodle, and changing the millionth diaper.  How does any of that matter?

But it does matter, and for the very reason that I question whether it matters.  While we are on this earth, life is filled with repetition and monotony.  That is just the way it is.  As I clean up that fifth mess of the day, or change those wet pants again, I am showing my children how to live life, even in its monotony. The purpose of what can feel rather mundane in my life is teach my children how to live through the monotony of their lives.

That still doesn’t give me the big picture answer, but it was enough for me this morning.  It was powerful enough to enable me to finish cleaning up the lunch mess, and tending to the soaked toddler, and wiping up the spilt water with a smile on my face and joy in my heart.

