The Bible often uses food as an analogy for our spiritual walk.  We are to hunger and thirst after righteousness.  The Word is called food for our souls. We are to move past spiritual milk and get into the meat of the Word.

When hunger strikes us in the natural sense, we can reach for chips and candy or we can reach for fresh fruits and veggies.  Both may fill our hunger for the moment, but the former will not sustain our strength nor nourish our bodies.

I have recently made some extreme (as least for me) changes in my normal, everyday diet.  I am purposefully eating more fresh, raw fruits, veggies, nuts and seeds.  The first few days, it was a struggle as I bypassed the carb laden foods for healthier alternatives.   By day four my natural hunger no longer wanted sugars or breads, but instead craved a nice plate of raw vegetables with a little dressing on some lettuce leaves.  And believe me, never would I have guessed that I would crave ‘rabbit food.’

I was able to watch my kids devour the pancakes I made without any desire to eat them myself (and I make good pancakes!!).  I also noticed that I was eating a lot less food, yet felt more satisfied.  Being full with nutritious foods, I had no room and no desire for junk.  In contrast, in times past I could eat an endless amount of ‘junk food,’ or even just nutritionally void foods like breads, and still not be satisfied.

I find the same to be true in a Spiritual sense.  When I fill myself with the food of the Word, I have little desire for the junk of the world, yet when I neglect the Word in lieu of worthless things, I am never satisfied and forever discontent.

There are a handful of TV programs that I enjoy watching.  They aren’t ‘junk’ in the sense that they aren’t filled with lust induced story lines or profanity, but they also aren’t necessarily beneficial for my soul.  Fourty-five minutes of a program may be a fine way to unwind, but I do not walk away edified or more secure in the truths of Scripture.

So when the kids go to bed at night, I have two choices: I can open my Bible or turn on my computer. When I chose the computer, I can easily fill the time with TV programs, Facebook and web surfing, but never feel ‘full.’  When I do finally shut it down, I have little appetite to pick up the Word.  My natural desire craves more of these worthless pursuits, yet those pursuits never satisfy.  However, if I first chose the Bible, I can easily spend the night nourishing my soul, without any desire for those worldly entertainments.  And if I do engage in some sort of media, I am content to shut it down after the program ends, without any ongoing craving for more.

One of my favorite movies is “Fireproof” and my favorite line from that movie is, “And don’t just follow your heart, man; ’cause your heart can be deceived. But you gotta lead your heart.”  How many times do we do, or don’t do things because of how we feel? How often do you plan your meals around what your feeling like that day?  I know I’ve been at a restaurant and said to my husband, ‘I don’t know what I want to eat,’ to which he may respond, ‘what do you feel like?’

Why are we so obsessed with feelings??  Why not decide things based on ‘whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable.’  Why not eat foods because we know they are healthy, rather than because we crave them.  Are we becoming slaves to our cravings?

Why not read our Bibles because we know we should even through we feel like zoning out in front of the television or on the internet?  We don’t let our kids get away with that.

Mom: ‘why did you hit your brother?’

Billy: ‘I felt like it.’

That doesn’t fly, so why do we allow ourselves to make unhealthy and unwise choices based on our feelings rather than based on truth, whether in the natural sense or the spiritual sense?

