I coach soccer at my old high school in the fall.  I’m up there each afternoon coaching a group of 9th and 10th graders.  I am constantly shocked and appalled by the attire I see from both my players and the overall student body, specifically the girls.  All I can think is where are the fathers saying ‘over my dead body, you are not walking out of the house in that!’  Where are the men who were assigned the task of protection and care of these girls?  Where  are the men protecting the purity and dignity of their daughters.

Shorts way to short, shirts way to low, cleaving popping out, among 14 year olds.  ARE YOU SERIOUS?  They barely have any clothes on.

Early in the season, on a particularly hot day, one of my players asked if they could take their shirts off and play in their sports bras.  I was appalled that such a request would even be made, and with the boys soccer team on the left and the football team down a ways I gave them an adamant ‘no.’  One girl replied that it wasn’t any different than a bathing suit.  Sadly, we was correct.

How do you explain to 14-16 year old girls that their dress is largely inappropriate when it is clear that their parents have never said so.

Undeterred by my denial of their request to play half-naked, a number of them decided to tuck their shirts up, showing their midriff.  I instituted a ‘no skin between the shoulders and the thighs’ policy, that hasn’t been too well respected.  Recognizing that I am fighting a losing battle, I often choose to overlook this habit.

Dad’s (and moms) are clearly failing their daughters here, but should I be surprised when I see pagans acting like pagans?

What is even more appalling is walking into church on Sunday mornings, seeing similar immodesty among professing believers.  Shirts too low, skirts too high, dresses too tight. Many of our “Christian” young people come to church looking like they stepped out of a fashion magazine.  It should be no surprise to see the world dressing as they do when often the pews each Sunday aren’t much better.  Even our wedding attire has begun to resemble the worldly way of dress rather than maintaining a standard of modesty.

Christian women, when is the last time you went through your wardrobe with a discerning eye? When is the last time you honestly asked your husband if certain items were modest, or if they are likely to tempt another man to lust?   When did you last check the neckline of your shirts and dresses.  Husbands, when is the last time you took leadership here and made some honest observations (despite the possible push-back you may receive from your wife and daughters)?

Are we dressing with an understanding of the way our clothing (or lack of clothing) effects our brothers in Christ?  Husbands, are you explaining this to your wives and daughters so that they understand that their dress isn’t just a ‘personal choice’ but has external implications?

We are called to be set apart from the world.  That doesn’t mean we need to dress like nuns, or start sporting a Christian version of the burqa, but it does mean that we should be dressed in a way that glorifies our Lord.  Dressed in a way that is not with the goal of ‘looking cute’ or attracting attention to our bodies, but as a frame of our face, as CJ Mahaney puts it.

