I always thought that I was a pretty good multi-tasker.  I was always able to multi-task in school, and even in my occupation after graduating college.  Doing one thing at a time seemed, well, boring.  Give me a challenge.

Even in the early days of being a mommy I was all about the multi-tasking.  Feeding the baby while reading, or while cooking was a daily occurrence.  There is just so little time in each day, why not maximize that time?

Well, lately I have been pondering on how nice it might be  to ditch all of that and simply outsource….everything.   My daily tasks, taken independently of all else, are for the most part enjoyable.  I love to cook…without little people pulling on me or requiring my attention.  I don’t mind cleaning and doing laundry.  I like the order that results from such activities…without the distraction or inconvenience of other lives requiring my attention.

I know, I know…I’m not painting a very pretty picture right now.  I’m not trying to.  I am simply being transparent.

Let’s face it, children are inconvenient.  That doesn’t me we don’t love them, or are grateful for them, but anytime our lives are interrupted by another, it is inconvenient.

Lately I think about those people who outsource various aspects of their daily lives.  Hiring personal chefs.  Employing a cleaning lady.  Even outsourcing the raising of their children to daycare.  Part of me can see the lure.

I would love to spend most of my day making gourmet meals, but to do so would require my children be occupied by someone else.

I would love for my house to be spotless all the time, but that would necessitate, my children being out of the house 90% of the day.

I would love to have hours of uninterrupted time to read with my children, play games with them and home school them, but that would require a cook and a maid, and a diaper changer.

Daily life can be boring, tedious.  As moms, it is easy to sometimes question whether there is more to life than this.  A whole day can pass without much visible productivity.

I am coming to terms with the fact that my life is not going to get simpler.  Sure, I can set up systems to create a more orderly life, but as the kids get older, and as more kids come, like gets more and more messy.

The challenge is to focus on the essentials, within the chaos.  It is so easy to get caught up on the urgent, while missing the important.  When the day ends, I may have a pristine house, after a gourmet meal, but my children may have been largely neglected.  Or, the house may need some tidying, and dinner may have been cereal, but my energy was poured into the building of my children’s characters.  It doesn’t have to be one extreme or the other, a happy medium can be reached, but a choice does have to be made.

Where will I place the greatest importance?  Would my children confirm the values I claim, based on the way I spend my day?

 

