This is a post I wrote in April 2010, but never published.  It still applies…

 

I love being a mom.  I left the corporate world over 4 years ago to stay home and be a mom.  I wouldn’t change a thing.  I would take the worst day as a mom over any day at the office, and I wouldn’t trade the opportunity to be the one raising my kids for all the money in the world.  Yet, being a mom is tough work, and often, I make it tougher.

I like lists.  Okay, I love lists.  I have papers and pads with lists and notes everywhere. It drives my husband crazy, but it’s just how my logical brain operates.  I have my grocery list, my to-do list, my project list, my ‘need to buy’ list of non-grocery items, I have my ‘goals’ list.  I have a list of recipes I want to test.  A list of new foods to try. Obsessed much?

On top of that craziness, and well aware of my weaknesses, I am always reading up to learn ways to become a better homemaker and mother.  I read about games to play with your kids.  Crafts to do.  Books to read to them.  One source says that scheduling is key, and gives a sample schedule for every hour of the day, including different activities for different children.  Clearly these people have it all together, I might as well curl up in a ball and go back to bed.

God bless my husband, who is so patient with me, (even though I know he secretly laughs at my ridiculousness), who reminds me that being a mom is hard work, and overlooks the fact that we are having eggs for dinner, again, or cereal, or whatever you can find, because I just didn’t get to it.

I am learning though, albeit slowly.  Learning that lists can have a useful purpose in my life, when I am able to keep reasonable expectations.  As I write my daily to do list, I often just cross off the word “Monday” at the top and put “Tuesday” since it seems like a waste of ink to re-write all the activities on a new page.  And I am reminding myself that that’s okay.  With three small children, there are times when getting through the day with everyone dressed (pajamas count), fed, and without any major bleeding, I count it a successful day.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who makes the difficult job of being a mom that much more difficult with lofty self-imposed expectations….

