For the first time in over 5 years I will have more than a few hours to myself…well, mostly to myself. Our youngest (4 months) will be with me, but even still, I’m excited.  A good friend from my Penn days is getting married this weekend, and I will be flying down to NC (along with 4-month-old Austin) to be there for the event.  I am super-duper excited for her wedding, and for my time away.

Initially it was going to be a lovely romantic getaway for hubby and me, but he was not able to get off of work, so I’ll have to settle for a weekend away with the other man in my life.

As the days draw near my excitement grows.  I love my kids.  I love being home with them, watching them do their silly things, teaching them, playing with them, etc.  But I am very much looking forward to some time away, and thanks for a wonderful and brave friend who loves my children, and will be taking them for the weekend, I will have that time away.

3 days.  3 full days.  Enough time to catch my breath from the demands of being a mama, and probably enough time to be missing them like crazy, eager to get home.

At first there was a hint of guilt at the thought of leaving them behind…but I’m over that. I am hopeful that my mini-retreat will bring back a renewed and refreshed mama.